Nederlands | English | Deutsch | Türkçe

Project Sports

Questions and answers about sports

What is a legal catch in softball?

7 min read

Asked by: Amy Locascio

CATCH. A catch is a legally caught ball, which occurs when the fielder catches a batted or thrown ball with his hand(s) or glove. a. In establishing a valid catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove the ball is securely held and/or that the release of the ball is voluntary and intentional.

What does a catch mean in softball?

A catch is legal if the ball is finally held by any fielder before it touches the ground. Runners may leave their bases the instant the first fielder touches the ball.

What is the catch and carry rule?

(1) The “catch and carry” has been extended in professional baseball and adopted by the Premier, Junior and Cadet League to include thrown balls that are caught by a fielder on the playing field (fair and foul territory) who then steps or falls into any out-of-play area.

Is it a homerun if you catch the ball and fall over the fence?

Is it a home run if you catch the ball and fall over the fence? If an outfielder catches the home run with one foot on or over the playing surface and maintains possession of the baseball then the batter is called out.

What happens if you catch the ball in softball?

A batter is out if: They hit the ball and it’s caught while it’s in the air (even if it’s caught in foul territory), gets 3 strikes.

What is a legal catch in baseball?

A fielder may reach into (but not step into) a dugout to make a catch. To be a legal catch, the fielder “must have one or both feet on or over the playing surface (including the lip of the dugout) and neither foot on the ground inside the dugout or in any other out-of-play area.”

What happens if a foul ball is caught?

If any member of the fielding team catches a foul ball before it touches the ground or lands outside the field perimeter, the batter is out.

Can you catch a foul ball in the stands?

In all four cases the catch would be legal, as dictated by the best judgment of the umpire. The same restrictions apply to a foul ball descending into a stand. A catcher or fielder may not jump into a stand to catch such a ball, but reaching into the stand and making the play is permitted.

Can you catch the ball off the wall?

If an outfielder fields a ball directly off the wall (or traps it against the wall) it’s not considered a catch. Therefore it’s ruled the same as if the ball hit the ground.

Can a fielder intentionally dropped ball?

The same application shall be made if an outfielder has come so close to the infield to set up a double play situation if he intentionally drops the ball. Runners cannot advance under this rule. Umpires shall immediately call “Time,” when, in their judgment, the ball is intentionally dropped.

What is a dead ball in softball?

Definition. A dead ball is a ball that is out of play. The ruling of a dead ball halts the game and no plays can legally occur until the umpire resumes the game, though baserunners can advance as the result of acts that occurred while the ball was live.

How do you catch a ball in softball?

It's important for new softball players to square their entire bodies to the thrower that means your hips toes. And shoulders should all be pointing at your target. Keep your knees bent.

Can you steal bases in softball?

Leading off is not allowed in fast pitch softball – players are permitted to steal bases, provided they do not leave the base before the pitcher has released the ball. A runner on 1st or 2nd can advance/steal only one base per pitch even in the event of an overthrow in live ball territory.

What makes a pitch illegal in softball?

For those not familiar, an illegal pitch in softball occurs when the pitcher breaks a rule while delivering her pitch. The illegal pitch is called by the umpire, resulting in an awarded ball to the batter in the box. If there is a runner on base when an illegal pitch occurs, the base runner is awarded the next base.

What is the hardest position to play in softball?

The shortstop has many responsibilities, including catching and fielding, and are very versatile and agile players. This is perhaps the most difficult position on the field. The remaining base is reserved for the third baseman. This area is the corner diagonally opposite the first base.

Can you run back to home in softball?

A.R. 3—On a tag play between home plate and first base, a batter-runner may retreat toward home plate to evade a tag, but shall be declared out after touching or passing home plate, or leaving the base line. The ball remains live. Therefore, a runner can back up to just before he would touch home plate.

Can you step on home plate after hitting?

Can you step on home plate while batting? No, you cannot, because the batter must keep both feet inside the batter’s box at all times. Rule 6.02 in the major league baseball rulebook specifies that if the batter steps outside the box when swinging at the pitched baseball, he will be called out.

Can you stop running to first base in softball?

Players in softball are allowed to run through first base; they do not have to stop on it so one should not slow down at the base, running full speed through it instead. On extra-base hits or high fly balls, one should run hard for a double or triple.

Can you get in a rundown between home and first base?

There really will never be a rundown between first base and home plate. The batter always has a force-out at first, so a defender would just throw the ball to first to get the out.

Can a catcher throw to shortstop?

First and Third – Throw to Shortstop

The shortstop will come straight in toward the grass. Instead of firing the ball to second, the catcher will throw the ball to the shortstop.

Does fielder or runner have right of way?

The protection continues until the fielder makes a play or makes a throw after fielding the ball. From beginning to end of this sequence, the fielder has the right of way and runners must avoid impeding the fielder. Here’s the rub. The rules protect only one fielder.

Can there be a pickle between home and first?

Ruling: No, unless the obstruction is intentional. NOTE: In situations where the batter-runner gets in a rundown between first and home, if the batter-runner retreats and reaches home plate, the batter-runner shall be declared out.

Do you have to run to first base?

Running the bases

Runners may attempt to advance from base to base on any fair ball that touches the ground. When a ball is hit in the air (i.e., a fly ball) and caught by the defending team, runners must return and touch the base they occupy—called tagging up—after the ball is first touched by a fielder.

Which two bases can be over run in softball?


  • Runners must touch each base in order.
  • Runners may overrun 1st base only, all other bases the runner may be tagged and called out if they are off the base.
  • Runners can not lead off a base, they must be on base until the ball makes contact with the hitters bat.

What is a dead ball appeal?

A dead-ball appeal can be verbal and made by a coach or any defensive player. If an umpire anticipates a possible appeal and the ball is already back to the pitcher, it is much easier to administer the appeal by making the ball dead and telling the defense to make the verbal appeal.

What happens if a runner misses a base?

When a runner runs beyond a missed base and beats the throw, he is vulnerable to being called out on appeal. The onus, however, is on the defensive team to recognize the failure of the runner to touch the base and make a valid appeal by properly communicating the appeal to the umpire.

Can an umpire call a runner out for missing a base?

The fielder in turn makes a spectacular catch, the runner seeing this starts running back to first base, the fielder throws to first and the throw beats the runner. Ruling: The umpire should call the runner out. Under the circumstances given a verbal appeal of this action is not required.