Nederlands | English | Deutsch | Türkçe

Project Sports

Questions and answers about sports

Does Hawaii have a mayor?

2 min read

Asked by: Dominic Molde

The Mayor of Hawaii is the chief executive officer of the County of Hawaii in the state of Hawaii. The mayor has municipal jurisdiction over the Big Island of Hawaii. The current mayor is Mitch Roth.

Does each island in Hawaii have a mayor?

Honolulu is the regional headquarters of the federal government. Hawaii’s local governmental structure is unique among the U.S. states in that it is limited to two levels of government: the state and the four counties, each with a mayor and a council. There are no municipal governments.

Does Honolulu have mayor?

Honolulu is the capital city of Hawaii and the most populous city in the state.

Honolulu, Hawaii
Mayor: Rick Blangiardi
Mayor party: Nonpartisan
Last mayoral election: 2020
Next mayoral election: 2024

How long can you be mayor in Hawaii?

Mayor of Honolulu

Mayor of the City and County of Honolulu
Term length 4 years Maximum of 2 consecutive full terms
Inaugural holder Joseph James Fern
Formation 1909
Website Office of the Mayor

Who was the last mayor of Honolulu?

Kirk Caldwell

Kirk Caldwell announced in a statement Wednesday that he is ending his campaign for governor in the upcoming Democratic primary election. Caldwell served as Honolulu mayor for two terms, leaving office in 2021.

Who is the governor of Honolulu?

David Ige Governor David Y. Ige

Governor David Y. Ige was sworn in as the eighth governor of the State of Hawai’i on December 1, 2014.

Is Hawaii USA state?

More than 60 years after the overthrow of the Hawaiian monarchy, Hawaii (Native spelling: Hawaiʻi) officially became America’s 50th state on August 21, 1959.