Nederlands | English | Deutsch | Türkçe

Project Sports

Questions and answers about sports

Can you kick the ball out of the goalies hand?

3 min read

Asked by: Tyler Young

No. Law is clear, the goalkeeper is in control of the ball with the hand and an opponent may not challenge for it. Sanction is an IFK for the goalkeeper’s team.

Can you kick the ball out of goalkeepers hands?

In the situation described in the question, the goalkeeper is deemed to be in control of the ball. The attacker would be committing a foul, since according to the same Law, [a] goalkeeper cannot be challenged by an opponent when in control of the ball with the hands.

Can you take the ball away from the goalkeeper?

It is an offence for a player to prevent a goalkeeper from releasing the ball from his hands. A player must be penalised for playing in a dangerous manner if he kicks or attempts to kick the ball when the goalkeeper is in the process of releasing it.

Can you kick the soccer ball in the goalie box?

Goal Kick. Attacking players are not allowed inside the goal box when the goalkeeper is restarting the game with a goal kick. The goalkeeper should be the only player in the box at that time. The only time this might differ is if the goalkeeper is having problems with his kicking, due to an injury.

What happens if you kick a goalie?

Kicking the hand of the goalie definitely is a foul. Just like with most other challenges hitting an opponent while going for the ball is a foul, regardless of where the attacker hits the opponent. Hitting the ball first would be required in order to count the goal in your situation.

When can a goalkeeper not use his hands?

Rules for Goalies:
Once in possession of the ball, they have 6 seconds to pass it to another player. They can kick or throw the ball to a teammate. Goalies can not use their hands if the ball is kicked back to them from a teammate.

When can a goalkeeper not handle the ball?

The goalkeeper cannot pick the ball up when it has been intentionally passed back to them, except via the head or chest. They also cannot drop the ball from their hands and then handle it again before anyone else has touched it.

Can a goalie yell during a penalty kick?

The goalkeeper cannot take actions (such as waving his arms or yelling) to try to intentionally distract the kicker because that would be “unsporting”, nor can the kicker start his run & then stop for the purpose of faking the Goalkeeper, for the same reason.

Can a goalkeeper pick it up from a throw-in?

A goalkeeper can only pick up, or catch, the ball from a throw-in if the throw-in is taken by a player from the other team. A goalkeeper cannot pick up, or catch, the ball directly from a throw-in if the throw-in is taken by a player on their own team.

Can you slide tackle a keeper?

A goalie is permitted to slide within their box to MAKE A SAVE, but CANNOT slide solely to tackle the ball away from an attacker.

Is slide kicking illegal in soccer?

This is a non- reckless “fair charge” and perfectly legal. All players should learn the physical aspects of the game! A slide tackle is a perfectly legal play. A foul can be called when the play is dangerous, like when the defender makes contact with the opponent first before the ball, or makes the tackle “cleats up”.

Is charging the goalkeeper a foul in soccer?

Charging the keeper who is in possession of the ball must be considered an offense because, by definition, the charge cannot be for the purpose of challenging for control of the ball (see Advice 12.16).