Nederlands | English

Project Sports

Questions and answers about sports

What are the 5 species of Pacific salmon?

1 min read

Asked by: Jessica Roy

There are seven species of Pacific salmon. Five of them occur in North American waters: chinook, coho, chum, sockeye, and pink. Masu and amago salmon occur only in Asia.

What is the scientific name for Pacific salmon?

Genus Oncorhynchus
Oncorhynchus is a genus of fish in the family Salmonidae; it contains the six species of Pacific salmon (Chinook, coho, sockeye, pink, chum, masu) as well as steelhead, and other Pacific trout.
Feb 13, 2020

What is the largest species of salmon?

Chinook salmon

Chinook salmon
Order: Salmoniformes
Family: Salmonidae
Genus: Oncorhynchus
Species: O. tshawytscha

Which salmon is best?


Many consider it to be the best salmon you can buy. High in fat, rich, and large in size, King salmon (also known as Chinook) is loaded with omega-3s.

Which salmon is better Pacific or Atlantic?

These days, Atlantic salmon is typically farmed, while Pacific salmon species are primarily wild-caught. Wild-caught Pacific salmon are typically considered to be the healthiest salmon.
Feb 27, 2020

What is the most expensive salmon?

King Salmon

King Salmon (aka Chinook Salmon)
The one downside: It’s usually the most expensive salmon you’ll find at the fishmonger—but honestly, it’s money well spent. King Salmon from Alaska is Marine Stewardship Council (MSC) Certified sustainable.